Formula 1 points // champions. Real comparison from 1950 to today. Transparent and fair.

The formula 1 champions view provides the list of all time F1 champions. This view shows you the F1 champion for a specific season under the selected points scoring system. It takes into account that each season has it own championship definition. Click here for the details.

   Season   Champion   Champion points   Selected PSS champion   Champion points   Total points
2017Lewis Hamilton363Lewis Hamilton363363
2016Nico Rosberg385Nico Rosberg385385
2015Lewis Hamilton381Lewis Hamilton381381
2014Lewis Hamilton384Lewis Hamilton359359
2013Sebastian Vettel397Sebastian Vettel397397
2012Sebastian Vettel281Sebastian Vettel281281
2011Sebastian Vettel392Sebastian Vettel392392
2010Sebastian Vettel256Sebastian Vettel256256
2009Jenson Button95Jenson Button239.5239.5
2008Lewis Hamilton98Lewis Hamilton243243
2007Kimi Räikkönen110Kimi Räikkönen272272
2006Fernando Alonso134Fernando Alonso321321
2005Fernando Alonso133Fernando Alonso322322
2004Michael Schumacher148Michael Schumacher367367
2003Michael Schumacher93Michael Schumacher236236
2002Michael Schumacher144Michael Schumacher380380
2001Michael Schumacher123Michael Schumacher327327
2000Michael Schumacher108Michael Schumacher286286
1999Mika Hakkinen76Eddie Irvine237237
1998Mika Hakkinen100Mika Hakkinen271271
1997Jacques Villeneuve81Michael Schumacher229229
1996Damon Hill97Damon Hill258258
1995Michael Schumacher102Michael Schumacher268268
1994Michael Schumacher92Damon Hill252252
1993Alain Prost99Alain Prost271271
1992Nigel Mansell108Nigel Mansell279279
1991Ayrton Senna96Ayrton Senna274.5274.5
1990Ayrton Senna78Ayrton Senna231231
1989Alain Prost76Alain Prost223245
1988Ayrton Senna90Ayrton Senna254275
1987Nelson Piquet73Nelson Piquet216228
1986Alain Prost72Alain Prost217233
1985Alain Prost73Alain Prost221233
1984Niki Lauda72Alain Prost213.5213.5
1983Nelson Piquet59Alain Prost183183
1982Keke Rosberg44Keke Rosberg155155
1981Nelson Piquet50Nelson Piquet166166
1980Alan Jones67Alan Jones194209
1979Jody Scheckter51Jody Scheckter153201
1978Mario Andretti64Mario Andretti195195
1977Niki Lauda72Niki Lauda220220
1976James Hunt69Niki Lauda207207
1975Niki Lauda64.5Niki Lauda205209
1974Emerson Fittipaldi55Emerson Fittipaldi181182
1973Jackie Stewart71Jackie Stewart221221
1972Emerson Fittipaldi61Emerson Fittipaldi176176
1971Jackie Stewart62Jackie Stewart178178
1970Jochen Rindt45Jochen Rindt125125
1969Jackie Stewart63Jackie Stewart180180
1968Graham Hill48Graham Hill143143
1967Denny Hulme51Denny Hulme161161
1966Jack Brabham42Jack Brabham118130
1965Jim Clark54Jim Clark150150
1964John Surtees40John Surtees119119
1963Jim Clark54Jim Clark150208
1962Graham Hill42Graham Hill118156
1961Phil Hill34Phil Hill101118
1960Jack Brabham43Jack Brabham137137
1959Jack Brabham31Jack Brabham98110
1958Mike Hawthorn42Stirling Moss118118
1957Juan Manuel Fangio40Juan Manuel Fangio118136
1956Juan Manuel Fangio30Juan Manuel Fangio83.592.5
1955Juan Manuel Fangio40Juan Manuel Fangio118118
1954Juan Manuel Fangio42Juan Manuel Fangio125177
1953Alberto Ascari34.5Alberto Ascari100137
1952Alberto Ascari36Alberto Ascari100150
1951Juan Manuel Fangio31Juan Manuel Fangio8698.5
1950Giuseppe Farina30Giuseppe Farina8787

In the F1 per season champions view, the actual champions are listed against the champion under the selected points scoring system for each season.
Select a points scoring system of your choice. For the selected points scoring system both the championship points and total points are shown. Orange indicate a different champion under the selected points scoring system.
The difference between champion points and total points: in the past the championship was decided based on additional rules like only the x best results count. The total points is simply the total points achieved for all results by a specific driver.